HB Secondary Schools Sports Awards

The following people were selected to represent the school at the Hawkes Bay Secondary School Sports Awards which were held at the Municipal Theatre on Monday November the 4th. We were lucky enough to have Emma Twigg as the guest speaker.

Sian Fendall, Netball umpiring – received a merit award for the Student Contribution to HBSS Sport.  Sian was also nominated for Hawkes Bay Secondary School Female sportsperson of the year.

Iona Nominations for the Shoe Clinic H SS Female Sports Person of the year Award were:

.         Phoebe Treseder – Cycling

·         Courtney Gettins – Softball

·         Amy Martin BMX racing

Courtney Gettins received a merit award.  Only seven merit awards were awarded out of the 28 nominees from varies secondary schools.  Courtney was selected for the NZ Junior U19 White Sox Quad and was also part of the NZ Women’s White Sox Squad earlier in the year.

Mrs Jay Jones a member of Iona’s staff received a service award to secondary school sport for 25 plus years’ service to Hawkes Bay and North Island Secondary Schools ski champs.